Twitter is a place to share ideas and information and to connect with your communities. In order to protect the very best parts of that experience, we provide tools designed to help you control what you see and what others can see about you.
Learn how mute, block and report can help you take control of your experience on Twitter. https://t.co/nE1Qc45Xro— Twitter Support (@Support) March 18, 2015
Controls over what you see
Unfollowing is the simplest action you can take to stop seeing someone’s Tweets on your Home timeline. You can always follow an account again if you change your mind.
Read more about unfollowing in this article.
Your Notifications timeline displays your interactions with other Twitter accounts, like mentions, favorites, Retweets and who has recently followed you. If you’re receiving unwanted replies or mentions from users you do not follow, you can make a small adjustment so you’ll only see Tweets and updates from People you follow.
Read instructions for adjusting your Notifications timeline in this article.
Muting another Twitter account means you will not see that account's Tweets in your timeline. It’s a great way to stay connected with friends, even if you aren’t interested in seeing all of their Tweets. Muted accounts are not notified that you’ve muted them, and you will still get notifications when they mention you in Tweets and send you Direct Messages. You can also mute accounts you do not follow so that you don’t see their Tweets in your notifications timeline.
Muting is different than blocking or unfollowing: accounts you have muted have no way to tell that you are muting them.
Read more about muting in this article.
When you block an account on Twitter, you restrict that account’s ability to interact with your account. It can be an effective way to handle unwanted interactions from accounts you do not want to engage with.
Accounts you have blocked will not be able to view your following or followers lists, likes or lists, and you will not receive notifications of mentions directly from those accounts. You’ll also stop seeing their Tweets in your timeline
Blocked accounts may notice you have blocked their account if they try to visit your profile or follow you, but they will not receive any notifications that you have blocked them.
Read more about blocking accounts in this article.
When an account is particularly harassing or threatening, tell us about it by reporting the account or Tweets to us. It will take a few steps, and your report will help us make Twitter a better place.
Read more about reporting violations to Twitter in this article.
Control the media you see in Tweets
Your account settings include Tweet media options so you can decide whether you see a warning over media in Tweets that may contain sensitive content. Your settings default to provide the warning, but you can change the setting at any time.
Read more about how to control the media you see in Tweets in this article.
Controls over what others see about you
Protect your Tweets
Protecting your Tweets means your Tweets will only be visible to your followers when you protect your Tweets, you have control of your Twitter experience: every time someone wants to follow your account, you have the choice to accept or decline their request.
Accounts that began following you before you protected your Tweets will continue to follow you, and will be able to view and interact with your protected Tweets unless you block them.
Read more about public and protected Tweets in this article.
Tagging friends in photos can be a great way to stay connected, but you might decide you want your Twitter experience to be more private. You can choose between allowing anyone, just friends, or no one to tag you in photos.
Read about changing your photo tagging settings in this article.
Finding friends and people you care about on Twitter can lead to a great experience, and by using your email address or phone number we can help you easily make those connections.
However, you may prefer to find friends and contacts without our help, and adjusting the setting to keep your account from being discoverable in this way is easy. Read more about this setting and how to change it in this article.
Sharing your location in Tweets
Twitter lets you select whether to include your whereabouts on each individual Tweet. While sharing your location allows your followers to comment and make recommendations on things to do or places to go, there are also risks involved with sharing your location publicly. Since you may not know all your followers, it’s a good idea to be conscious of what you are choosing to share.
You can flag your own Tweets as possibly containing sensitive media so that other accounts will see a warning before the media is displayed.
Read more about how to mark the media in your Tweets as containing sensitive content in this article.
Know what information you are providing third-party applications
Other companies have developed applications to broaden your Twitter experience. Before connecting to a third-party application, be sure to visit their website and familiarize yourself with their Terms of Service. To learn more about authorizing an application, read this article on how to connect and revoke third party applications.