Deactivating your Vine account

Account deactivation is supported in versions 1.4.4 and later.

To deactivate your Vine account from an iOS device:

  1. Navigate to your profile
  2. Tap Settings
  3. Select Your content
  4. Tap Deactivate account, located at the bottom of the screen

    To deactivate your Vine account from an Android device:

    1. Tap the person icon 
    2. Tap on your profile picture which will bring you to your settings
    3. Scroll down to the bottom and tap Deactivate account
    Note: Your profile and content will be hidden shortly after deactivating. Your email address will also be tied up 30 days after deactivating. Your account can be reactivated by logging in within 30 days. After 30 days, your account will be permanently deleted.

    How do I reactivate my Vine account?

    Deactivated accounts can be reactivated within 30 days of deactivation by logging in using your previous credentials. Make sure to log in using an email address or Twitter handle, depending on which you chose to create an account with.

    Why can’t I log in after deactivating my Twitter account?

    If you signed up for Vine using a Twitter account and do not have an email address associated with the account, you will not be able to log in to your Vine account if the Twitter account has been deactivated. It is best to update your settings with your current Twitter account or email address before deactivating the Twitter account you use to log in with.

    If you deactivated the Twitter account associated with your Vine account before adding your new credentials, you will have to reactivate your Twitter account in order to login. You can find instructions for reactivating your Twitter account here.

    If it's been more than 30 days since you deactivated your Twitter account, it has been permanently removed. If this is the case, please contact us here.