Why is the Twitter app requesting permission to access features on my Android device?

Why is the Twitter app requesting permission to access features on my Android device?

When you install the Twitter for Android app on your device, you may be prompted to grant permission for the app to access information or use features from your device. Almost all apps need certain permissions to run on Android, and we use these permissions to run features in the Twitter for Android app. Keep in mind that Android controls the way the permissions are named, and the way they are named doesn’t necessarily reflect the way the Twitter app uses them.

Below is a list of some of the permissions we ask for in the Twitter for Android app, along with an example of how each one can be used. This list doesn’t include all of the Android permissions we request, or all of our uses for those permissions. If you’ve already installed the Twitter app, you can find a list of the permissions the app uses in your phone’s Applications Manager, or by visiting the Play Store and clicking Installed.

 

Android permissions 
(what you’ll see on your Android device)

Examples of what we use this permission for

Modify or delete the contents of your USB storage

This permission allows us to help make your app experience better, faster, and
reduce data usage. For example, we can use the USB storage to cache photos
and avatars on your device.

Receive text messages (SMS)

If you choose to use your phone number to connect with friends on Twitter, this permission allows us to automatically verify your phone-number.

This also allows us to send you text messages if, for example, you choose to activate features like Twitter Alerts for critical information broadcasting.
Record audio This permission allows you to record videos with audio using the Twitter video camera.
Install shortcuts
This permission allows you to create widgets on your device.
Precise location (GPS and network-based)
This permission allows Twitter to use your precise location to better tailor your experience on Twitter, and allows you to do things like share your locations in your Tweet if you decide to do so.
Add or remove accounts
These permissions allow us to help manage your Twitter account
Read your contacts
If you choose to import contacts from your device to Twitter, this permission allows us to suggest friends to you in addition to suggesting you to friends on Twitter.
Full network access
This allows your device to connect to Twitter via network or cellular data.

 

*We may update this, so check back here to learn more about how we use Android permissions in the Twitter app.

Was this article helpful?

Submitting...