Retweeting another Tweet

What is a Retweet?

A Tweet that you forward to your followers is known as a Retweet. You can use our built-in Retweet feature for this. If you'd like to add your own comments to the tweet, you can use the quote Tweet feature. Both are outlined below. 

    How to Retweet:

    1. Hover over a Tweet.
    2. Click the Retweet icon
    3. A pop-up will show you the Tweet you're about to Retweet.
    4. Click the Retweet button.
    5. The Tweet will then be shared with all of your followers as a Retweet!

    How to undo a Retweet:

    1. Find the Retweet you’d like to undo.
    2. The Retweet icon will be highlighted. 
    3. Click the Retweet icon and the Tweet will be removed from your profile timeline. Note: Undoing a Retweet will remove it from other timelines, however it may still appear on mobile devices displaying cached timelines or in cross-postings to Facebook.

      How to use quote Tweet to add your own comments:

      From Web:

      1. Hover over a Tweet. 
      2. Click the Retweet icon
      3. A pop-up will show you the Tweet and a comment box.
      4. Type your own comments in the Add a comment field. 
      5. Click the Tweet button.
      6. The Tweet will then be shared with your followers as a quote Tweet!

      From mobile apps:

      1. Tap the Retweet icon
      2. Tap Quote Tweet.
      3. Add a comment and tap Tweet.
      4. The Tweet will then be shared with your followers as a quote Tweet!
        Note: You cannot Retweet your own quote Tweet. 

        How to delete a quote Tweet:

        1. Find the quote Tweet you'd like to undo.
        2. Click the More icon (...) and select Delete Tweet.

        Having trouble?

        Click here to view our troubleshooting articles about Tweets. 

        Was this article helpful?

        Submitting...