About Direct Messages

Direct Messages are private messages sent from one Twitter user to other Twitter users. You can use Direct Messages for one-on-one private conversations, or between groups of users:

One-on-one Messages:

  • You can only send Direct Messages to users who follow you.
  • You can receive Messages from any user that you follow.

    Group Messages:

    • You can only invite users who follow you to a group.
    • Other users participating in the conversation can invite their followers (even if they aren’t followed by everyone involved in the group Message).
    • Users who have been blocked by anyone participating in the group Message can’t be invited to join.
    • You can start and participate in group Messages when using twitter.com, Twitter for iPhone or Twitter for Android apps, and TweetDeck.

      To send a Direct Message from your Twitter app:

      1. Tap the envelope icon. You’ll be directed to your Messages.
      2. Tap the new Message icon  to create a new Message.
      3. In the address box, enter the name(s) or @username(s) of your followers you wish to send a Message to. A group Message can include up to 20 people.
      4. Tip: when you start a group Message, you and anyone in the group can click or tap the more icon ••• (iOS) or overflow icon  (Android) to add new people, view everyone participating, edit the name of the group, turn off notifications for the conversation or leave the group.
      5. Enter your message. Tap the picture icon to take or include a photo in your message. Note: When you share a photo in a Direct Message, the photo is only viewable by the sender and recipient(s).
      6. Click Send.
      7. Tip: You can share a Tweet via Direct Message. Learn more here.

         

        To delete a Direct Message or conversation:

        • To delete a Direct Message, tap and hold the message and select Delete from the menu that pops up.
        • To delete an entire conversation, swipe left on the conversation and tap the trash can icon (iOS) or tap and hold the conversation and select Delete (Android).
        • When you delete a Direct Message or conversation (sent or received), it is deleted from your account only.

          To send a Direct Message via the web:

          1. Log in to your Twitter account.
          2. Click Messages in the top navigation bar.
          3. You'll see a pop up showing your Direct Message history. Click the New message button.
          4. In the address box, enter the name(s) or @username(s) of your followers you wish to send a Message to. A group Message can include up to 20 people.
          5. Tip: when you start a group Message, you and anyone in the group can click or tap the More icon ••• to add new people, view everyone participating, edit the name of the group, turn off notifications for the conversation or leave the group.
          6. If you’d like to include a photo in your Message, click Add photo. Note: When you share a photo in a Direct Message, the photo is only viewable by the sender and recipient(s).
          7. Enter your message and click Send message.
          8. Tip: You can share a Tweet via Direct Message. Learn more here.

             

            To delete a Direct Message or conversation:

            • To delete a Direct Message, hover your mouse over the message and click the trash can icon that appears. Then click Delete message to confirm.
            • To delete an entire conversation, locate the conversation and click to open it. Then click the more icon ••• and select Delete. Then click Delete to confirm.
            • When you delete a Direct Message or conversation (sent or received), it is deleted from your account only.

              To receive Direct Messages on your phone via SMS:

              If your Twitter account is connected to your mobile phone, you can receive Direct Messages via text.

                A note about Direct Message fails: Your service provider may split SMS Messages greater than 160 characters into multiple Messages. In this case, the second Message will post as a normal Tweet because it doesn't begin with d username, as the first Message did. Please be careful to ensure that your Messages are under 160 characters, including the d command and username.

                If you are receiving Direct Messages from yourself:

                Please take the following actions:

                1. While signed in, visit your Apps tab in settings. Revoke access for any third party application that you don't recognize.
                2. If you're still experiencing this problem after you've revoked unwanted applications, or if you weren't expecting this behavior when you approved this connection, please contact us.

                  Other common issues:

                  • There is an account limit of 1,000 Direct Messages sent per day. Once you reach this limit, you can’t send any more Direct Messages for the day.
                  • Sending duplicate Direct Messages to multiple accounts may be flagged as spam activity and can result in you not being able to send a Direct Message for a short time. You may need to wait at least 30 minutes without any attempt at sending a Direct Message before you’ll be able to do so again.
                  • If your account is sending a Direct Message without your knowledge, it may be compromised. Follow the steps outlined in this article to secure it.
                  • If you’re only experiencing issues sending Direct Messages on the web, make sure your browser is up to date. If so, try using a different browser before signing in and sending again.

                    Having trouble?

                    Check out our Tweets & Direct Messages troubleshooting section for solutions to common problems.