What is a Retweet?
- A Retweet is a re-posting of someone else's Tweet. Twitter's Retweet feature helps you and others quickly share that Tweet with all of your followers.
- Sometimes people type RT at the beginning of a Tweet to indicate that they are re-posting someone else's content. This isn't an official Twitter command or feature, but signifies that they are quoting another user's Tweet.
What does a Retweet look like?
- Retweets look like normal Tweets with the author's name and username next to it, but are distinguished by the Retweet icon and the name of the user who retweeted the Tweet. If you see a message from a stranger in your timeline, look for retweeted by info in the Tweet — the retweeter should be someone you follow.
Where do Retweets appear?
Tweets retweeted by other people:
- You can see Retweets your followers have retweeted in your home timeline.
- Retweets, like regular Tweets, will not show up from people you've blocked.
Tweets you have retweeted:
- If you retweet someone you follow, it will be visible on your profile timeline.
- If you retweet someone you do not follow, it will be visible on both your home and profile timelines.
Your Tweets that others have retweeted:
- Go to Notifications in the top navigation bar. In the Notifications section you will see all activity concerning your Tweets — including which have recently been retweeted and by whom.
How do I turn Retweets off?
- You can turn off Retweets for a specific user if you don’t like what they share. Select Turn off Retweets from the gear icon drop-down menu on a user's profile to stop seeing Tweets they've retweeted.
- Turning Retweets on or off is not retroactive, meaning that you can't remove Retweets that are already in your timeline.
- It is not possible to turn off ALL Retweets from ALL users.
- You can undo a Retweet you've made by clicking on Retweeted in the Tweet. This will remove the retweet from your timeline, but will not delete the original Tweet.
- If another user's Tweets are protected, you will not be able to retweet their content. If you see the lock icon next to the user's name and information on their profile page or on their Tweets, their Tweets are protected and you will not be able to share their Tweets on your timeline through Twitter's Retweet feature.
- You can see their Tweets in your timeline because they have accepted your follow request, but because they have chosen not to share their Tweets publicly, their Tweets cannot be retweeted by you or anyone else.
- You cannot retweet your own Tweet. However, if your Tweets are public, others will be able to retweet you.
Are there limits on Retweets?
- There is no limit to the number of times a Tweet can be retweeted, but Twitter will only show up to the most recent 100 people who retweeted any public Tweet.
- Retweets are counted toward your 1,000 Tweets per day limit. Read more.
Our Tweet & DM troubleshooting articles have answers to common problems.