Posting photos on Twitter

To post a photo in a Tweet:

  1. From the web or an iOS device, click or tap the compose new Tweet button . From an Android device, tap on What’s happening?
  2. From the web, click Add photo. From a device, tap the camera icon to take a photo, or choose a photo from your gallery.
  3. Once a photo is selected, you will see a thumbnail image (or file name) appear as an attachment. You can select up to 4 images to tweet at once.

    Editing a photo?
     
    If you are tweeting from the Twitter for iOS or Twitter for Android app, you can enhance, apply a filter, and crop an image once you select it.

    Tagging people with a photo?
    Tap Who’s in this photo? to tag people. Type in a full name or an @ username and then tap Done.
  4. Type your message and tap Tweet to post your message and photo(s). Your Tweet’s character count will update to include the pic.twitter.com URL for your photo(s).
  5. Tip: You can also send photos in direct messages. Click here for more information.
Note: To remove the image file you selected, click or tap the x on the image thumbnail (or next to the file name). To remove a tag, tap the tag and then the backspace or delete button. You can only do this before you tweet the photo. You can’t remove tags from a photo once it is tweeted.

Frequently asked questions:

What are the size and file type requirements?

  • Your image file size can be up to 3MB.
  • We accept GIF, JPEG, and PNG files.
  • We DO NOT accept BMP, TIFF, or animated GIF files.
  • Your photo will be automatically scaled for display in your expanded Tweet and in your user gallery.

How do I delete a photo?

You can delete a photo by deleting the Tweet that contains it. Once a Tweet is deleted, the photo will no longer be available from Twitter. However, please note that it may still be cached in some browsers, apps, and servers.

My Tweets are protected. Are my photos protected, too?

Only approved followers will be able to see your photos if your Tweets are protected.

My Tweets are protected. Can I still tag or be tagged in a photo?

If your Tweets are protected, you can tag anyone who follows you. By default, other users can’t tag you in a photo. However, if you wish to allow other users to tag you, you can adjust your account Settings.

What is the difference between a tag and a mention?

Tags appear on photos in Tweets, and mentions can appear in any type of Tweet. For more information about mentions, click here.

How do I remove myself from a photo I’m tagged in?

To remove your name or username from photo(s) you’re tagged in, tap into the detail view of the Tweet, then tap the ellipsis (•••) and select Remove tag from photo.

You can also stop an account from tagging you by blocking the user. Once you have blocked the user, your tagged name or username will no longer be shown on the photo.

I don’t want to be tagged in photos. How do I change my settings?

You can change who can tag you in a photo by visiting your Security and privacy settings tab on twitter.com or via Settings in the Twitter for iOS or Twitter for Android apps.

To change your settings using Twitter for iOS:

  1. From the Me tab, tap the gear icon .
  2. Select Settings from the menu that pops up, and tap the account @ username you’d like to adjust.
  3. Under Privacy, tap Photo tagging and swipe to enable or disable photo tagging.
  4. If you enable photo tagging, you can adjust your settings so that Anyone can tag me or only People I follow can tag me.

To change your settings using Twitter for Android:

  1. In the top menu, tap on the overflow icon  (on the far right) and select Settings.
  2. Tap the account @ username you’d like to adjust and then tap Who can tag me in photos.
  3. From the menu that pops up, you can select Off to disable photo tagging, or you can enable photo tagging by selecting Anyone or Only people I follow.
Note: Please allow up to 30 minutes for changes to your photo tagging settings to take place.

    Where can I see the photos I’m tagged?

    Tweets with photo(s) you’re tagged in will be listed under Notifications in the Notifications tab. If you follow the person who has tagged you, the Tweet also be visible in your timeline.

    What happens to the Exif data for my photo?

    We remove the Exif data upon upload. It is not available to those who view your photo on Twitter.

    Will all images appear in search?

    Photos included in public Tweets may show up in Twitter search results. Photos posted in protected Tweets and deleted photos will not show up in search results.

    If I protect my Tweets, what happens to my photos?

    • Your photos will still be viewable by your approved followers.
    • Photos previously shared by you when your Tweets were public will display an error message to those who do not follow you.
    • If you don't want anyone to see your photos on Twitter, you should delete the Tweets containing those photos.

    Having trouble? Contact Support.

    Was this article helpful?

    Submitting...