Did you Tweet something and then change your mind? Don't worry! It's easy to delete one of your Tweets. Please note that you can only delete Tweets that you have made, you cannot delete other users' Tweets from your timeline.
How to delete one of your Tweets:
- Sign in to Twitter.com.
- Visit your Profile page.
- Locate the Tweet you want to delete.
- Click the More icon (•••).
- Click Delete Tweet.
- Done! Your Tweet has been deleted.
How to delete multiple Tweets:
- We do not provide a way to bulk-delete Tweets. You can only delete Tweets manually, one by one.
- If you're looking to get a fresh start on your Twitter account without losing your username, the best way to do this is to create another account with a temporary username, and then switch the username between your current account and the new account. Please see our article on How to Change Your Username for more info.
What happens to Tweets I delete?
- When you delete a Tweet, it is removed from your account, the timeline of any accounts you follow, and also Twitter search results.
- Retweets of the deleted Tweet will also be deleted.
- If other users have quoted your Tweet (i.e. copied and pasted part or all of your text into their own Tweet) their Tweets will not be removed.
- If other users have Retweeted your Tweet with a comment of their own, their Tweets will not be removed.
- Tweets may be cached or cross-posted on third-party websites, applications, or search engines. We cannot remove Tweets that are not on Twitter.
Check out our Tweet & DM troubleshooting help articles for solutions to common problems.