Help Center

Advanced options for using block

Twitter makes it easy for you to view and manage your list of blocked accounts. Your blocked accounts list is viewable via twitter.com and the Twitter for iOS and Android apps. Additionally, you’ll find the following advanced options in your blocked account settings on twitter.com:

  • Ability to export your list of blocked accounts to share with another person
  • Ability to import someone else’s list of blocked accounts
  • Ability to manage your list of imported blocked accounts separately from your full list of blocked accounts

Share your block list with others

By exporting your block list, you can share the list with others if they want to block the same list of accounts.

To export your block list:

  1. Navigate to your blocked account settings on twitter.com.
  2. At the top of your block list, click All to export your full block list. Click Imported to export the block list(s) you have imported.
  3. Click the Advanced options drop-down menu.
  4. Select Export your list.
  5. Confirm the accounts you want to export.
  6. Click Export and a .csv file will be downloaded to your computer and you can share the file with other Twitter users. If your block list exceeds 5,000 accounts, your list will be separated into multiple files.
Note: The export file includes a user ID for each account on the list. It does not include any other information about the users on the list.

Import someone else’s block list

By importing another user’s block list, you can block the same list of accounts.

To import a block list:

  1. Make sure the file shared with you is a .csv file and save it to your computer.
  2. Navigate to your blocked account settings on twitter.com.
  3. Click the Advanced options drop-down menu.
  4. Select Import a list.
  5. In the pop-up, click on Attach a file to upload and find the .csv file. Click Open to import the list.
  6. The file name will be displayed when the file has been successfully imported.
  7. Click Preview. The list of the accounts will be displayed. You can uncheck any accounts you do not wish to block (accounts that you currently follow will be automatically unchecked).
  8. Click Block to confirm.
  9. The imported accounts will be added to your block list.

Manage your block list

From the web:

At the top of your block list, you’ll see the option to click All or Imported.

  • Click All to see every account you are currently blocking.
  • Click Imported to see the accounts you blocked after importing another user’s list.
  • To unblock an account, click the Blocked button next to the account you’d like to unblock (the button will read Unblocked when you hover over it).

 

From Twitter for iOS:

  1. From the Me tab, tap the gear icon
  2. Tap Settings.
  3. Tap Privacy and content.
  4. Under Content, tap Blocked accounts.
  5. You can unblock accounts by clicking the blocked icon  or you can visit their profile by tapping on their profile photo. 
  6. If you previously imported a list of blocked accounts, you’ll see the option to tap All or Imported blocked accounts.

 

From Twitter for Android:

  1. In the top menu, you will either see a navigation menu icon  or your profile icon. Tap whichever icon you have.
  2. Tap Settings and privacy.
  3. Tap Privacy and safety.
  4. Under Safety, tap Blocked accounts.
  5. You can unblock accounts by clicking the blocked icon  or you can visit their profile by tapping on their profile photo. 
  6. If you previously imported a list of blocked accounts, you’ll see the option to tap All or Imported blocked accounts.
Note: Read our Blocking accounts on Twitter article for more information.