Retweeting another Tweet

What is a Retweet?

A Tweet that you forward to your followers is known as a Retweet. You can use our built-in Retweet feature for this. If you'd like to add your own comments to the tweet, you can use the quote Tweet feature. Both are outlined below. 

    How to Retweet:

    1. Hover over a Tweet.
    2. Click the Retweet icon
    3. A pop-up will show you the Tweet you're about to Retweet.
    4. Click the Retweet button.
    5. The Tweet will then be shared with all of your followers as a Retweet!

    How to undo a Retweet:

    1. Find the Retweet you’d like to undo.
    2. The Retweet icon will be highlighted. 
    3. Click the Retweet icon and the Tweet will be removed from your profile timeline. Note: Undoing a Retweet will remove it from other timelines, however it may still appear on mobile devices displaying cached timelines or in cross-postings to Facebook.

      How to use quote Tweet to add your own comments:

      From Web:

      1. Hover over a Tweet. 
      2. Click the Retweet icon
      3. A pop-up will show you the Tweet and a comment box.
      4. Type your own comments in the Add a comment field. 
      5. Click the Tweet button.
      6. The Tweet will then be shared with your followers as a quote Tweet!

      From mobile apps:

      1. Tap the Retweet icon
      2. Tap Quote Tweet.
      3. Add a comment and tap Tweet.
      4. The Tweet will then be shared with your followers as a quote Tweet!
        Note: You cannot Retweet your own quote Tweet. 

        How to delete a quote Tweet:

        1. Find the quote Tweet you'd like to undo.
        2. Click the More icon (...) and select Delete Tweet.

        Having trouble?

        Click here to view our troubleshooting articles about Tweets.