Help Center

Retweeting another Tweet

What is a Retweet?

A Tweet that you forward to your followers is known as a Retweet. You can use our built-in Retweet feature for this. If you'd like to add your own comments to the tweet, you can use the quote Tweet feature. Both are outlined below. 

How to Retweet:

  1. Hover over a Tweet.
  2. Click the Retweet icon
  3. A pop-up will show you the Tweet you're about to Retweet.
  4. Click the Retweet button.
  5. The Tweet will then be shared with all of your followers as a Retweet!

How to undo a Retweet:

  1. Find the Retweet you’d like to undo.
  2. The Retweet icon will be highlighted. 
  3. Click the Retweet icon and the Tweet will be removed from your profile timeline. Note: Undoing a Retweet will remove it from other timelines, however it may still appear on mobile devices displaying cached timelines or in cross-postings to Facebook.

How to use quote Tweet to add your own comments:

From Web:

  1. Hover over a Tweet. 
  2. Click the Retweet icon
  3. A pop-up will show you the Tweet and a comment box.
  4. Type your own comments in the Add a comment field. 
  5. Click the Tweet button.
  6. The Tweet will then be shared with your followers as a quote Tweet!

From mobile apps:

  1. Tap the Retweet icon
  2. Tap Quote Tweet.
  3. Add a comment and tap Tweet.
  4. The Tweet will then be shared with your followers as a quote Tweet!
Note: You cannot Retweet your own quote Tweet. 

How to delete a quote Tweet:

  1. Find the quote Tweet you'd like to undo.
  2. Click the More icon (...) and select Delete Tweet.

Having trouble?

Click here to view our troubleshooting articles about Tweets.