Getting started with TweetDeck

TweetDeck gives the Twitter experience more flexibility by letting you view multiple timelines in one easy interface. It includes a host of features to help advanced users get the most of Twitter: manage multiple Twitter accounts, schedule Tweets for posting in the future, build Tweet collections and more. Simply sign in with your personal Twitter account at tweetdeck.twitter.com to get started.

If you use TweetDeck in a corporate or team environment, we do not recommend signing in with shared Twitter accounts. Instead, shared accounts like these can be added using TweetDeck’s multi-account feature after you have signed in with your personal account. This will improve the security of your accounts and help to protect them from unauthorized use. Read more about secure sign-in here.

TweetDeck is currently available as a desktop app, a web app, or a Chrome app, and can be downloaded at tweetdeck.com.

To start using TweetDeck:

  1. Go to http://tweetdeck.twitter.com, or open the desktop* or Chrome app.
  2. Sign in with your Twitter account. We recommend that you use a Twitter account that is not shared with other individuals.
  3. Once you're signed in, you can connect multiple Twitter accounts to your TweetDeck account.

* If you are using an old version (older than PC: 3.3.7 or Mac: 3.5.0) of our desktop apps for PC or Mac you will not be able to sign in with a Twitter account or create a new account until you upgrade to the latest version. However, if you have an existing TweetDeck account you can continue to use the older version until it is deprecated.

To connect multiple Twitter accounts in your TweetDeck:

      1. Click Accounts in the navigation bar.
      2. Next click Add another Twitter account.
      3. Enter your Twitter credentials and then click Authorize.
      4. You’re ready to use TweetDeck! Next, just add some columns.

        Managing multiple accounts

        To remove an account from TweetDeck:

          1. Click Accounts in the navigation bar.
          2. Expand the account you wish to delete by clicking the down arrow.
          3. Click Remove and confirm.
            Note: If you sign in to TweetDeck using a Twitter account, that account cannot be removed from TweetDeck.

            Selecting a default account

            You can select which of your accounts to use as your default account. This is the account you will compose a Tweet from, favorite a Tweet from, and reply to Tweets with.

              1. Click Accounts in the navigation bar.
              2. Expand the account you wish to set as the default by clicking the down arrow.
              3. Click Set as default account.

                Tweeting from multiple accounts

                TweetDeck allows you to tweet from multiple accounts easily. You can even post Tweets from multiple accounts at once! To select which accounts you would like to tweet from:

                1. Click on the compose Tweet button at the top of the navigation bar; the accounts you have authorized will be listed at the top (you can hover over an icon to see the username of the account).
                2. Select which accounts you would like to Tweet from; you can click on all of them or only one (if the account is selected, the Twitter icon will be highlighted).
                3. Tip: Schedule Tweets in advance for any account connected to your TweetDeck! Read about how in this article.

                Favoriting from multiple accounts

                TweetDeck allows you to favorite a Tweet from multiple accounts.

                1. Click on the ellipsis (•••) icon on the Tweet.
                2. From the menu that pops up, click on Favorite from accounts…
                3. Click Favorite next to the account(s) you’d like to favorite from.

                  Following from multiple accounts

                   TweetDeck allows you to follow a user from multiple accounts, all at once. You can also follow a user by clicking follow on their profile, but only your default account will follow them.

                  1. Click on the account that you wish to follow; a user profile will appear.
                  2. Click on the account icon (looks like a person) and then select Follow from accounts...
                  3. Choose which accounts you would like to follow from.
                  Note: The same applies when unfollowing an account.

                  Why is it more secure to sign in with a personal Twitter username?

                  If you sign in using a personal username that only you have the password for, you can safely connect your team accounts without any risk to account security. We recommend that you use login verification for added security.

                  However, if you sign in using a team username, and shared password, any accounts you connect in future will be shared with everybody who has that password. You cannot use login verification for added security on an account that many people have access to.

                  Having trouble?

                  Check out our troubleshooting article for a list of current known issues and solutions to common issues.

                  Was this article helpful?

                  Submitting...