Unfollowing people on Twitter

Why would I want to unfollow someone?

  • Typically, users unfollow other users when they no longer wish to see that person's Tweets in their home timeline. You can still view them on an as-needed basis by visiting their profile, unless their Tweets are protected.
  • If you are unfollowing a user because their updates seem like spam, please read our guidelines on reporting spam on Twitter.

To unfollow from your following list:

  1. Click on Following on your homepage or profile page.
  2. Hover over the blue Following button next to any user on your following list, it will change to a red Unfollow.
  3. Click the button to unfollow the account.

To unfollow from a user's profile page:

  1. Go to the profile page of the user you'd like to unfollow.
  2. Hover over the blue Following button on their profile page; it will change to a red Unfollow.
  3. Click the button to unfollow the account.

To unfollow via SMS/text message:

  • If you're using Twitter for SMS to follow others, you can choose to unfollow the user by texting UNFOLLOW username to your carrier's short code. (Example: UNFOLLOW support)
  • If you don't want to unfollow the user completely, but only wish to stop receiving their updates via SMS, you can text LEAVE username or OFF username to the same short code. (Example: OFF support or LEAVE support)
  • To learn more about Twitter for SMS and SMS text commands, please read this article.

Having trouble?

Our troubleshooting articles for following issues have answers to common problems.