About Direct Messages

Direct Messages are private messages sent from one Twitter user to other Twitter users. You can use Direct Messages to communicate privately with a single person or with a group of people.

  • You can start a conversation with anyone who follows you.
  • Some accounts, including businesses, have enabled a setting to receive Direct Messages from anyone. You can send a Direct Message to these users even if they don’t follow you.
  • You can enable a setting to Receive Direct Messages from anyone on the Security and privacy settings page.
  • In one-on-one or group conversations, anyone in the conversation can send Direct Messages.
  • In group conversations, anyone in the conversation can add people.
  • In both group and one-on-one conversations, you cannot be in a conversation with someone you block.

    To send a Direct Message from your Twitter app:

    1. Tap the envelope icon. You’ll be directed to your Messages.
    2. Tap the new Message icon  to create a new Message.
    3. In the address box, enter the name(s) or @username(s) of the users you wish to send a Message to. A group Message can include up to 50 people.
    4. Enter your message. Tap the picture icon to take or include a photo in your message. Note: When you share a photo in a Direct Message, the photo is only viewable by the sender and recipient(s).
    5. Click Send.

       

      Pro tips:

      • You and anyone else in a conversation can click or tap the more icon ••• (iOS) or overflow icon  (Android) to add new people, view everyone participating, edit the name of the group, turn off notifications for the conversation, or delete the conversation.
      • You can share a Tweet via Direct Message. Learn more here.

       

      To delete a Direct Message or conversation:

      • To delete a Direct Message, tap and hold the message and select Delete from the menu that pops up.
      • To delete an entire conversation, swipe left on the conversation and tap the trash can icon (iOS) or tap and hold the conversation and select Delete (Android). You can also delete an entire conversation by clicking or tapping the more icon ••• (iOS) or overflow icon  (Android) and selecting Delete from the menu that pops up.
      • When you delete a Direct Message or conversation (sent or received), it is deleted from your account only.

        To send a Direct Message via the web:

        1. Log in to your Twitter account.
        2. Click Messages in the top navigation bar.
        3. You'll see a pop up showing your Direct Message history. Click the New message button.
        4. In the address box, enter the name(s) or @username(s) of the users you wish to send a Message to. A group Message can include up to 50 people.
        5. If you’d like to include a photo in your Message, click Add photo. Note: When you share a photo in a Direct Message, the photo is only viewable by the sender and recipient(s).
        6. Enter your message and click Send message.

           

          Pro tips:

          • You and anyone else in a conversation can click the More icon ••• to add new people, view everyone participating, edit the name of the group, turn off notifications for the conversation, or delete the conversation.
          • You can share a Tweet via Direct Message. Learn more here.

           

          To delete a Direct Message or conversation:

          • To delete a Direct Message, hover your mouse over the message and click the trash can icon that appears. Then click Delete message to confirm.
          • To delete an entire conversation, locate the conversation and click to open it. Then click the more icon ••• and select Delete Conversation. Then click Yes to confirm.
          • When you delete a Direct Message or conversation (sent or received), it is deleted from your account only.

            To receive Direct Messages from anyone:

            You can receive Messages from anyone if you check the box next to Receive Direct Messages from anyone in your Security and privacy settings on twitter.com. You can also adjust this setting via the Twitter for iOS or Twitter for Android apps.

            Note: If you enable this option, any user can add you to group conversations.

             

            To change your settings using Twitter for iOS:

            1. From the Me tab, tap the gear icon 
            2. Select Settings from the menu that pops up, and tap the account @username you’d like to adjust.
            3. Under Privacy, tap Receive Direct Messages from anyone to allow anyone to send you Messages.

               

              To change your settings using Twitter for Android:

              1. In the top menu, tap on the overflow icon
              2. Select Settings and tap the account @username you’d like to adjust.
              3. Under Other, tap Receive Direct Messages from anyone to allow anyone to send you Messages.

                To receive Direct Messages on your phone via SMS:

                If your Twitter account is connected to your mobile phone, you can receive Direct Messages via text.

                A note about Direct Message fails: Your service provider may split SMS Messages greater than 160 characters into multiple Messages. In this case, the second Message will post as a normal Tweet because it doesn't begin with d username, as the first Message did. Please be careful to ensure that your Messages are under 160 characters, including the d command and username.

                If you are receiving Direct Messages from yourself:

                Please take the following actions:

                1. While signed in, visit your Apps tab in settings. Revoke access for any third party application that you don't recognize.
                2. If you're still experiencing this problem after you've revoked unwanted applications, or if you weren't expecting this behavior when you approved this connection, please contact us.

                  Frequently asked questions:

                  My account is protected. What happens when I enable the "Receive Direct Messages from anyone" option?

                  Regardless of your Tweet privacy settings (i.e. whether your Tweets are protected or not protected), your account will be able to receive Direct Messages from anyone if you enable the option to Receive Direct Messages from anyone.

                   

                  Why am I not seeing a reply box?

                  If the other participant has unfollowed you or deleted the conversation with you, you may no longer be able to send them a Direct Message.

                   

                  Why am I not seeing group Messages?

                  You can start and participate in group Messages when using twitter.com, the Twitter for iPhone, iPad or Android apps, and TweetDeck.

                   

                  What happens when I delete a Message or conversation?

                  • When you delete a Direct Message or conversation (sent or received), it is deleted from your account only.
                  • When you delete a group conversation, you will leave that group and will no longer be able to participate.
                  • When you delete a conversation with someone you don’t follow, they will no longer be able to send Direct Messages to you unless you have enabled the Receive Direct Messages from anyone setting.

                     

                    How can I stop someone from sending me Direct Messages?

                    You can either block the user or unfollow them and delete the conversation. If you have enabled the Receive Direct Messages from anyone setting, blocking the user will stop them from sending you Direct Messages.

                     

                    Why am I having trouble sending Direct Messages?

                    There is an account limit of 1,000 Direct Messages sent per day. Once you reach this limit, you can’t send any more Direct Messages for the day.

                    If you are sending duplicate Direct Messages to multiple accounts (including sending the same link to multiple accounts), this may be flagged as spam activity and can result in you not being able to send a Direct Message for a short time. You may need to wait at least 30 minutes without any attempt at sending a Direct Message before you’ll be able to do so again.

                     

                    My account is sending Messages without my knowledge. What is going on?

                    If your account is sending a Direct Message without your knowledge, it may be compromised. Follow the steps outlined in this article to help secure it.