Help Center

FAQs about verified accounts

What is a verified account?

Any account with a blue verified badge on their Twitter profile is a verified account.

Why does Twitter verify accounts?

Verification is currently used to establish authenticity of identities of key individuals and brands on Twitter.

What kinds of accounts get verified?

Twitter verifies accounts on an ongoing basis to make it easier for users to find who they're looking for. We concentrate on highly sought users in music, acting, fashion, government, politics, religion, journalism, media, sports, business and other key interest areas. We are constantly updating our requirements for verification. Note, verification does not factor in follower count or Tweet count.

We do not accept requests for verification from the general public. If you fall under one of the above categories and your Twitter account meets our qualifications for verification, we may contact you in the future.

Why hasn't my account been verified?

If you think you meet the criteria for verification and have not yet received a badge, please be patient. We are working within key interest areas to verify accounts that are sought after by other Twitter users. We don't accept verification requests from the general public, but we encourage you to continue using Twitter in a meaningful way, and you may be verified in the future. Please note that follower count is not a factor in determining whether an account meets our criteria for verification.

Besides verification, how can I show my account is authentic?

Linking to your Twitter profile from an official website is the easiest way to confirm the authenticity of your Twitter account. Including Twitter's follow button on your webpage is the absolute best way to do this. Click here to learn how. Or, visit all help articles about linking to your Twitter account from your blog or website here.

How to identify an official verified account:

  • The verified badge will appear next to a user's name on their profile page. It will also appear next to a user’s name in searches for people on Twitter.
  • If the verified badge appears anywhere else on a user's profile page (such as in the avatar or the background) it is not a verified account.
  • The verified badge cannot be used unless it is provided by Twitter. Accounts using a badge as part of profile pictures, background images or in any way implying false verification will be permanently suspended.
  • The verified badge will have the same colour even if users have customised their profile page theme colours.

Why do I see two timeline options on verified profiles?

When visiting the profile of a verified user or advertiser, you will see two timeline options – with All or No replies. Some verified users like to reply to mentions from their many fans and followers, but these replies can crowd their profile timeline, making it hard to see their other Tweets that may be of more interest to you. By default, No replies is selected when you navigate to a verified user's profile. If you'd like to see that user's complete timeline, including their @replies, simply click All.

Do verified accounts have access to extra features?

Yes, verified account holders have access to the following extra features:

  • Verified account holders have access to filters in the Notifications page that let them display their Notifications via one of three options: All (default), Mentions and Verified.
  • Visitors to verified account profile pages can select between two timeline options: No replies or All. No replies, which is the default setting, displays Tweets that are not direct @ replies to fans or followers. All displays every Tweet, including @ replies.
  • Verified account holders have access to account analytics, including data and characteristics about Tweet engagement and followers.
  • Verified account holders can elect to opt out of Group Direct Messages via the Security and Privacy settings page on

How do Vine accounts get verified?

If a Vine account is linked to a verified Twitter account, the Vine account will automatically be verified.

To link a verified Twitter account to a Vine account:

  1. Sign in to the Vine mobile app
  2. Navigate to Profile and select Settings
  3. Disconnect the current Twitter connection (if there is one) and then reconnect to the verified account

Can an account lose its verified status?

Changing certain profile information (such as the @ username or protecting Tweets) will result in the removal of a verified badge. That account will automatically be reviewed again to ensure it is eligible for verification.

An account may also lose its verified status if it violates the Twitter Rules or Terms of Service.

Previously verified accounts may not be eligible to have their badges restored.