Blocking users on Twitter

To block a Twitter user:

  1. Log in to your Twitter account.
  2. Go to the profile page of the person you wish to block.
  3. Click the gear icon on their profile page. This brings up a drop-down actions menu.
  4. Select Block from the options listed.

Blocked users cannot:

  • Add your Twitter account to their lists.
  • Have their @replies or mentions show in your mentions tab (although these Tweets may still appear in search).
  • Follow you.
  • See your profile picture on their profile page or in their timeline.
  • Tag you in a photo.

Privacy note: If your Tweets are public (i.e., not protected), they will still be visible on your public profile page to anyone, regardless of whether they have a Twitter account or not.

We do not send notification to a user when you block them, but because they will no longer be able to follow you, they may notice that they've been blocked.

To unblock a Twitter user:

  1. Visit the blocked account's profile on Twitter.
  2. Click Unblock from the blocked user's dropdown menu.

Unfollowing and reporting accounts as spam:

In addition to blocking users, you can also unfollow users or report accounts as spam. Please read those help pages for more information on unfollowing and reporting spam.

Having trouble?

Our Troubleshooting articles for following issues have answers to common problems.

Was this article helpful?

Submitting...